Dive into a bowl of rice – Get some Pilaf

I have never been able to cook rice properly until I got this pilaf recipe into my hands. Rice is a tricky business. When it comes to it, you have to turn into an almost professional chef and make sure the rice you get is not sticky, that you can engage into a dialogue with every little grain. Don’t you just hate when after a hard hour of work, all you’ve established for yourself is that your rice has curved up into a snowball like figures, and all you see are circles that definitely deviate from the norm? That is precisely how I felt when I first started cooking rice. I inspected every angle of it, and just when it seemed I couldn’t resolve the problem, I found this collection of magic words –  a pilaf recipe.

My never-ending gratitude to this genius who invented this one. After working on a whole 2 kg of pilaf, I got a smile on my face. Finally! I won’t keep you waiting any longer, here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

2.5 cups of rice (long), 2 medium carrots, 2 medium onions, about 1.5 kg of meat (beef is better), 4 cloves of garlic, any spices you find fit, good old-fashioned salt.

The Works:

My suggestion is to start with the rice. Get your 2.5 cups and put them in a bowl of cold water (this supposed to get all the stickiness out afterwards). Done with that? Amazing! Now, step two, get your hands ready to chop some meat up. You can do it any way you want, really. The meat can twist into any form. (During this time I actually happen to love geometry. This is what”s so unexpected about cooking: you get all the disciplines integrating one into another. Think about it: geometry, algebra, chemistry and all the others) If you so desire, you can go all Chinese and slice it into long bands, but I prefer cubes. Once you’ve accomplished your goals, get these pieces of meat into a deep frying pan. Fry for about 10-15 minutes, till golden color begins to appear.

My advice is to start multitasking, while your meat gets a tan, prepare for another short workout, and launch an onion dicing and carrot slicing campaign. I do not like to slice them all into tiny pieces, I design them so they are actually visible in the meal. You are your own boss, so you can do as you please=)

Fewf, now you can move on. Go ahead and insinuate all the ingredients into what you got going there in the frying pan. Initiate the takeoff with the onion, wait for about 10 minutes, mixing from time to time, and then, let carrots join. Mix together again, and wait. After, you can spice it all up and add a teaspoon of salt. Don’t forget to mix.

We are almost done. Remember the rice? Drain the water. Combine it together with all the others, even it out in the frying pan with a spoon, then comes the trick. Pour in some boiling water, but this is where your precision should shine through. Unify all your math skills together, and pour X 2 cups of boiling water in. (2.5 cups of rice X 2 is? 5) 5 cups of boiling water. You’ll get about 18 mm of water above the rice. Sprinkle a teaspoon of salt over this water, stir. Cover the frying pan with a lid, wait until all the water evaporates. Stir all the ingredients together again.

Well done and Good Job! Dive in and Eat!

 

I have something to say....

