Welcome to my childhood – Chicken today!

Do you remember when your mommy would give you a bowl of hot chicken soup everytime you were cold, or worse, got sick? I do. For me, this bowl of soup was a symbol of her warmth, her care, her love. One of the many…So, cooking this soup today brought all the memories back. And though, I am not a mommy myself (for now), I am sure I will teach my kids how to prepare it someday (one of my colorfull dreams)

I recall the smile on my face everytime I put a spoon of this soup in my mouth. Priceless…I always liked the green stuff (parsley, green onions) swimming inside it. Made me the hapiest kid in the world…

* I gotta say that I let myself distort the original recipe a little bit, I added mushrooms. Let you know how it tastes. According to my loving boyfriend, pretty darn good!

You know you want it!

You know you want it!

 

 

To share it with you in practice and not just in words, here it is, one of my family traditions, right from the heart:

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

Chicken – 500 g (preferably chiken breast), carrots – 2-3, onion-1 – 1.5, mushrooms – 6-7 small ones, chicken stock cubes or powder (3-4 table spoons), macaroni (those very thin, small ones you usually would use for soups) – a handful, parsley, pepper, salt, garlic – 4 cloves.

The Works:

Dice the onions, carrots, and slice the mushrooms. Prepare a frying pan. First fry the onions, see when they change color, then add the carrots. Mix together and wait about 3 minutes. Prepare for the next step. Fry the mushrooms separately, also for about 3 minutes. *Needless to say that while you are working hard on frying all these, it is important to also see that your chicken is enjoying boiling water in a saucepan. Take out the chicken.  Now see, you got the chicken stock from all that chicken in the water…Yes. you can cheat a little and add stock cubes as well, it will only bring out the flavor.

Throw in the macaroni, and all the veggies . Wait for about 10 minutes. Now, so you won’t waste any of your precious time, get to slicing the chicken (it does not have to be a work of art. don’t worry!)  So, when the slicing is done, you can immediately thow it into the soup. Again, be patient, you have to wait a little. While waiting, prepare your parsley for throw in. And, of course, the garlic. Add them in last, wait while garlic shares its flavor with the others (just for about 2 minutes), and turn the whole thing off.

Congratulations! You have prepared the soup of my childhood! Welcome to my Childhood!

I really want you to dive in!

Thanks for reading!

Want to experiment with chicken soup further, these look good to me too:

One thought on “Welcome to my childhood – Chicken today!

  1. Pingback: Never play with squash soup, you just might get addicted to it… | Kitchen Today

I have something to say....

